comment 0

Soap & Glory | Saturday Morning Breakfast Bath

 

Front facing trio cover

As a therapist in training there is nothing I love more than a bit of home relaxation. If I’m lucky enough to have a rare weekend off I really look forward to getting all my products out and choosing a theme for my home pamper. I think its just as important to indulge yourself in a little relaxation in the mornings as well as the evenings. Weekend mornings are the perfect time to plan a little you time, and what better way to do this than by running yourself a ‘Breakfast Bath’. The first thing I do is to light a couple of candles. Today I chose a simple Ikea candle in ‘Vanilla Pleasure’ – I have so many of these in various fragrances stored in my cupboard for bath times as they are super cheap at just 95p and burn for ages. You can also recycle the glass again for tea lights. Alongside it I also burnt my Yankee Candle in ‘Vanilla Cupcake’, this is my all time favourite candle and smells just like vanilla frosting! These come in a ranges of sizes, and a sucker for all things minature I have the small jar size at £7.99.

Vanilla CandlesThe products I choose for a morning pamper are more awakening. I tend to avoid ingredients like Lavender and Chamomile or heavy scented aromatherapy products that I would normally associate with my night time routine. Instead I go for more ‘foody’ breakfast table scents like oats, honey, brown sugar and vanilla as I find these lift my mood and make me cheery to start my day. The Lush Yellow Fun Bubble Bar £5.00 is perfect for creating a relaxing but mood lifting bubble bath. If you’ve never used Fun before or steered clear of the product because you think it’s just for kids, then think again! Designed to make you feel ‘clean and comforted’ it is a solid bubble bar than when crumbled under running water creates sweet vanilla scented bubbles.

fun collage Because I suffer with dry skin I also like to add some extra moisture to my water in the form of the Lush Butterball Bath Ballistic. This is such a simple bath product but contains lots of cocoa butter which settles in beads on the waters surface which soothes irritated or sensitive skin. It also contains Ylang ylang, an ingredient used in aromatherapy to treat stress.

Butterball Collage Carrying on with the foody fragrance theme when selecting my body wash products brought me to the Soap & Glory Smoothie Star Breakfast Scrub £8.00 and the Soap & Glory Whipped Clean Shower Butter £8.00. I know I’m pretty late to the party when it comes to these products and they have developed somewhat of a cult following, particularly the scrub. I love them because I have such dry and sensitive skin and I find them so moisturising.

Breakfast Scrub The scrub has a light brown sugar grain texture and is packed full of shea butter, bananas, almond oil, honey extract and features the most amazing maple syrup fragrance. This is my favourite scent of any cosmetic product currently on the market – BIG statement for someone who works for Lush!

Whipped Clean The shower smoothie has a light, whipped consistency and again is super moisturising. It can also be used as a gentle shaving foam and when used after the scrub leaves the skin feeling smooth and clean. Containing shea butter, cocoa butter, sweet almond oil, grapeseed oil, macadamia nut oil and with a pistachio, almond and sweet vanilla fragrance. Pure heaven for dry skin!

 

It’s pretty obvious that all of today’s products used in my Saturday Morning Breakfast Bath are high in moisturising oils and butters – Not great for hair washing days. If you are planning on going out after your bath and wish to wash your hair, then I would recommend doing so under the shower or pre-washing and using a shower cap.

 

What products do you like to use for a morning bath?

Leave a Reply

