comment 0

Top Tips For A Stress Free Move

1

If you read my previous post you will know that for a while now I’ve been on the hunt for a house in my favourite village of Tickhill. Well I’m very excited to say that the challenge has been met.. in the form of a beautiful cottage on the outskirts of the village. The process has been delightfully plain sailing so far, and so I thought I’d share my tips on a stress free move! Whether you are moving out of your parents house for the first time, renting or buying your first proper home or moving away to university.. you are sure to find some tips here to help you through the process.

Top Tip 1: Make LOTS of lists. If you’re not a list person then get yourself a cute notebook, make yourself a cuppa and take some time to note down all of the things you need to do before the big day arrives. I made three lists, one for the things that needed to be done at the old house, one for things to be done before we move anything into the new house and another for all the companies that needed to be contacted such as bills, banks and insurance providers.

Top Tip 2: Pack ahead of time. If you have the luxury to do this then it is far less stressful in the long run. By packing away in advance all the items you will not need before you move, you have the opportunity to organise your valuables into boxes and prevent any breakages through rushing – which brings me nicely onto my next tip!

Top Tip 3:  Invest some time in sourcing some decent packing materials such as bubble wrap and sturdy boxes. You don’t even have to spend any cash on this, your local supermarket or shopping centre will have a department that stores boxes already flat-packed whilst they await the recycling lorry. Catch them on a delivery day and you’re laughing!  Wrapping your items in bubble wrap is super important to avoid them smashing together in transit. It might seem like a real pain to package all your possessions individually but take it from me, you will be thankful when everything arrives in one piece at the other end. I once had an unfortunate incident involving a banana box and my Nana’s expensive china.. not my finest hour! If you don’t have the cash for bubble wrap then just use a few sheets of your local newspaper as most of them are free.

Top Tip 4: Pack yourself a ‘first night box’. Your first night in a new place can be strange so be sure to pack a box of comforting items that will instantly make you feel at home. My box contains my favourite pajamas, some chamomile tea and my favourite mug,  a framed photo of me and my boys, a cable knit snuggle blanket, some chocolate buttons and a dvd. These are all items you wouldn’t necessarily think to unpack first, but for me made the difference between an anxious or calm first night in my new home.

Top Tip 5: Unpack to music. Trust me, when you hear those songs again in years to come you will associate them with happy memories of the day you moved into your beautiful new home!

If you have moved house recently or are planning a move and would like some interiors inspiration, be sure to come back and check out my house tour in the next few weeks.

Do you have any moving tips to share?

Leave a Reply

